APC: Modu-Sheriff, Yari, others lose out, as party zones chairmanship to N/Central

…”Buni remains our Caretaker Chairman” – Senators

The ruling All Progressives Congress, (APC) has formally announced a new zoning formula for various National Working Committee (NWC) offices ahead of its March 26 National Convention.

In the formula, released yesterday in Abuja, the party zoned the office of its National Chairman to the North-Central geo-political zone, effectively edging out contestants from other zones.

Some of the contestants that would be affected by the formula are a former Governor of Borno State governor, Senator Ali Modu Sheriff (North-East), and governor of Zamfara State, AbdulAziz Yari, (North-West).

In a related development,
the APC senators in the upper chamber of the National Assembly, yesterday, took another route different from the party on the crisis rocking the party, whereby Governor Mai Mala Buni, of Yobe State, was replaced by his Niger State counterpart, Sani Bello, as the Chairman of the caretaker of the party.

The APC Caucus in the Senate after a second day running of their emergency meeting declared that Buni remains the substantive Chairman of Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee of the party.

Fielding questions from newsmen after their meeting, the leader of the Senate, Yahaya Abdullahi, disclosed that various issues facing the party were exhaustively deliberated upon, with a clear indication of peace ahead of the March 26 National Convention of the party.

According to him, “The reported storm in the party by the media is not true as there was no leadership crisis. Gov. Buni, to us, remains the Chairman of the National Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention (CECPC) Planning Committee of the Party. He will resume in that capacity the moment he returns from Dubai, where he went for a medical check.

“Governor Sani Bello, who is acting in that capacity now, is doing so to avoid a vacuum in leadership and most importantly, to put in place required arrangements for the forthcoming National Convention of the party 17 days from now”.

The senators who attended the meeting, which lasted for about three hours, include Senate President, Ahmad Lawan; his Deputy, Ovie Omo – Agege; the Whip, Orji Uzor Kalu and other principal officers.

The caucus, which specifically resolved to meet with CECPC of the party, leaders of Governors Forum and aspirants/candidates in the upcoming weekend, adopted a 7-point communiqué geared towards dousing any form of tension in the party.

Related news

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.