Buhari nominates former Service Chiefs for ambassadors

President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past Service Chiefs to the Senate as non-career Ambassadors-Designates. 

The nominees are: Gen Abayomi G. Olonisakin (rtd), Lt-Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (rtd), Vice-Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (rtd), and Air Vice-Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (rtd). 

A statement issued by the Special Adviser to the President (Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, confirmed the nomination.

In a letter to the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, President Buhari said, “In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate”.

Related news

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.