FG approves 20 new private universities

The Federal Executive Council (FEC), presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari, yesterday gave approval to 20 new private universities.

The Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, revealed this when he briefed State House correspondents on the outcome of the Council meeting, in Abuja.

The private universities approved by FEC are: Topfaith University, Mkpatak, (Akwa Ibom); Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, (Kwara); Maranathan University, Mgbidi, (Imo); Ave Maria University, Piyanko, (Nasarawa) and Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, (Kano).

Others include the Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo; Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, (Cross-River); Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, (Imo); NOK University, Kachia, (Kaduna); Karl-Kumm University, Vom, (Plateau); James Hope University, (Lagos); Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, (Kano); Capital City University, (Kano); Ahman Pategi University, Pategi, (Kwara) and University of Offa, Offa, (Kwara).

The rest are: Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State; Edusoko University, Bida (Niger); Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja; Khadija University, Majia (Jigawa) and Anan University, Kwall, (Plateau).

Nine of the private universities are located in North-Central; three in South-South; two in South-East; five in the North-West and one in South-West.

According to Adamu, the approved universities will get their provisional licences from the National Universities Commission, (NUC), which they will use for the next three years while monitoring and evaluation will go on.

Related news

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.