NLC declares strike in 18 States over minimum wage

The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) yesterday directed workers in all the states where the national minimum wage of N30, 000 is yet to be paid to immediately proceed on strike.

In a communiqué issued at the end of its National Executive Council (NEC), jointly signed by the NLC President, Dr. Ayuba Wabba and its General Secretary, Mr. Emma Ugboaja, the union urged the Federal Government to reduce the cost of gas sold to electricity generating companies to $1.5 cents, as a means of driving down electricity tariffs.

The NLC also demanded a downward review of the template used in determining the pump price of petrol to stave off an imminent hike in the cost of the commodity following the rising price of crude oil in the international market.

Although it did not name the States yet to honour the minimum wage, the NLC said about half the 36 States of the federation were yet to conclude negotiations on payment of the minimum wage.

However, checks showed that Kwara, Imo, Osun, Ekiti, Ebonyi, Zamfara, Gombe, Rivers and Ogun States are among those yet to fully implement the new wage bill as of October 2020.

The NLC warned that it would take drastic action against state governments that have refused to pay the new national minimum wage and minimum pension, whose benefits have been eroded by the escalating inflation in the count

Related news

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.