“Retrace your steps, Ayu won’t resign”, Atiku dares Wike, others

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, has declared that the National Chairman, Dr. Iyorchia Ayu, won’t resign as demanded by the Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, and other PDP chieftains in his camp.

Recall that Wike and his group have been calling for the resignation of Ayu and even pulled out of Atiku’s campaign organisation.

However, Atiku, in an issued statement, said: “On the calls for the resignation or removal from office of our National Chairman, I must reiterate what I have said severally in public and in private; the decision for Dr. Iyorchia Ayu to resign from office is personal to Dr. Ayu, and neither I nor anyone else can make that decision for him”.

The presidential candidate said he is a committed democrat and firm believer in the rule of law and democratic tenets, saying that everything must be done in line with the party’s Constitution.

Atiku insisted that if Ayu is removed from office, it must be done in accordance with the laws of the party. In his words: “If Dr. Ayu is to be removed from office, it must be done in accordance with the laws that set out the basis for such removal. In any event, you will all recall that the very body that is empowered by law to initiate this removal from office has already passed a vote of confidence in him”.

Those who attended the Ayu-must-go-meeting, aside Wike, included Chief Bode George, Senator Jonah Jang, Olusegun Mimiko, Ayo Fayose, Sen. Garkin Lado, Caleb MutFwang, Sen. Sandey Onor, Chief Dan Orbih, and Hon. David Emmanuel Obugadu. Others are Hon. Moh’d Maifada, Sen. Suleiman Nozif, Hon. Nnenna Elendu Ukeje, Prof. Jerry Gana, Dr. Ibrahim Dankwabo, Donald Duke, Hon. Bayo Lawal, Hon. Ibrahim Shehu-Gusau, Senator Olaka Nwogu, M D. Adoke (SAN) and Mohammed Jamiu.

Related news

Leave a Comment