Senate confirms appointment of ex-Service Chiefs as ambassadors amidst petitions, criticisms

The Senate, today confirmed the appointment of the immediate-past Service Chiefs as non-career ambassadors.

Those confirmed are: former Chief of Defence Staff, Abayomi Olonisakin; former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai; former Chief of Naval Staff, Ibok-Ete Ibas and former Chief of Air Staff, Sadique Abubakar. The former Intelligence Chief, Mohammed S Usman, was also confirmed.

Picture caption: The ex Service Chiefs

The confirmation comes three weeks after they were appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari as non-career ambassadors. However, the confirmation came amidst two petitions against the nominees and criticisms by some senators.

The upper legislative chamber confirmed the appointment of the former service chiefs after the chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Mohammad Bulkachuwa, presented a report for the consideration of the Senate, while stating that the nominees met the requirements expected of them. “The nominees responded satisfactorily. At the end of the screening exercise; their nominations are in line with section 171 of the 1999 constitution,” he said.

Meanwhile, the Senate minority leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe, queried why the petition against the service chiefs was dismissed.

The lawmaker said, “That petition borders on the integrity of the senate; it said that we called for their removal, how then do we confirm them for another appointment,” the Senator said.

However, the Senate President Ahmad Lawan opposed the minority leader. “The nomination cannot be nullified because we asked them to be changed,” the senate president said.

Related news

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.